Dianella Homepage
About Us



  To view the Dianella Organisational Chart, please click the following link


                                      Dianella Health Organisation Chart July 2017



Board of Directors


Dianella is a private, not-for-profit organisation independent of Government and is a company limited by guarantee owned and operated by its membership. The Dianella Board is responsible for overseeing the performance and overall direction of Dianella Health.



President & Chair of the Board

Ms Margaret Douglas

Ms Margaret Douglas - Director


Margaret was appointed a Director in 2013 and became Chairman of the Dianella Board in December 2015.

She has extensive management experience – 16 years at CEO level – across a range of organisations covering service industries, state and local government and a range of private enterprises including law, travel and mining. Her key strengths are strategic and business planning, commercialisation, driving and implementing organisational change and customer driven operations.


Her qualifications include Graduate of AICD, MBA, BSc (University of Melbourne


Deputy Chair

Ms Julie Busch

Julie Busch


Julie Busch has extensive executive experience in corporate retail property, government and NFP sectors.  She is Chair and non executive director of a number of Local and State Government Enterprises and not for profit organisations.


Julie has particular expertise in business strategy, stakeholder and change management, consumer marketing and infrastructure development.  She is passionate about need to provide the community with access to good health services to support wellbeing. 



Mr Emmanual Tsakis MBA, CPA, BBus.

Emmanuel Tsakis







Emmanuel is currently the Director of Finance & Development of a large community service organisation. Emmanuel has over 25 years of Not-For-Profit experience acquired through a broad range of senior roles ranging from Chief Financial Officer, Business Development and Divisional Management. Emmanuel specialist skills include, Financial Analysis, Financial Modelling, Strategic and Business Planning.



Mr James Hooper

 Mr James Hooper - Director


James Hooper joined Dianella’s Board of Directors in 2011. He is a barrister at the Victorian Bar. He has practiced the area of employment and industrial law for 17 years as a solicitor and then as a barrister. He appears before courts, commissions and tribunals in all areas of employment and industrial law. 


James’ initial years of practise were spent at specialist employment law firm A.J. Macken and Co. and he then spent a number of years providing employment and industrial advice and representation at the Victorian Hospital’s Industrial Association and Workplace Legal.


James holds Arts and Law degrees (Monash University) and a Master of Labour Relations Law (Melbourne University) (2007).  



Mr Gary Henry

  Gary Henry


Gary Henry was appointed to the Board in 2013. He has extensive experience in the management of health services in Australia and New Zealand at operational and governance levels. Since 2001 he has been a management consultant providing strategic and operational advice to not for profit organizations including health services, research teams and institutes, universities and aged care services. He is a board member of the Council on the Ageing and has been a member of the boards of the Australasian College of Health Service Management, New Zealand Institute of Health Management, Victorian Healthcare Association and Australian Healthcare Association.



Ms Vase Jovanoska

Vase Jovanoska









Vase Jovanoska has extensive executive experience in operations and financial management in both the corporate and not-for-profit sectors. She holds a Master of Business Administration, Master of Health and Human Services Management, BA (Accounting), and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a qualified CPA, and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management.

Vase has particular expertise in governance, strategy implementation, change management, continuous improvement, health policies and processes, finance and contracts management, project management, and human services. Vase is passionate about health equality and is committed to improving the quality of health services in the community.




Dr June Song

Dr June Song, Director


Dr Song works in General Practice as a medical practitioner and as a Medical Administrator at Peninsula Health. She has held management positions in both private and public Healthcare sectors. Clinically, she has a strong interest in women's health and chronic healthcare. She also has extensive experience in clinical governance, change management and project management. 


Member Clinical Governance & Community Engagement Sub-committee

Dr John Hodgson

  Dr John Hodgson


Dr John Hodgson has been a local General Practitioner for 30 years with interests in chronic disease management, mental health, and teaching medical students and new GP's. Dr Hodgson was a Dianella Board Director for 17 years prior to his resignation in 2015.    


Chief Executive Officer

Dr Neil Cowen MBA PhD

Dr Neil Cowen - Chief Executive Officer 


Dr Cowen has extensive experience at both executive and governance level in health services and human services, as well as the aged care and education sectors.  Recently appointed as Chief Executive Officer of Dianella Health, he is leading the development of the new GP Super Clinic project to be launched in February 2015.


Dr Cowen is also currently a Director of both the Mental Illness Fellowship Victoria and the Clinical Governance Committee, and he holds the position of Chair of DASSI. Previously, he was a member of boards for Loddon Mallee Health Alliance Ltd, Melbourne Dental Clinic Ltd, Kyabram and District Health Services, the Australian College of Health Service Executives (Victoria) and Rotary.


Dr Cowen  has a keen interest in driving culture change and achieving a performance culture in organisations that make a difference to health of their communities.


Top of Page